Houston County Sharks - Junior Varsity State Champions

What a Great Weekend of Play at the 2023 AAASP/ GHSA Varsity Wheelchair Handball State Championship!

MLT Tech SupportHandball Game Central Leave a Comment

What a great weekend of play in the AAASP/ GHSA Varsity Wheelchair Handball State Championship! The tournament took place in Warner Robins this year — thank you to Warner Robins High School for hosting the event!  (See AAASP/ GHSA Wheelchair Handball State Championship photos below!)

The semifinals was a very tight game between the Clayton Eagles and the Gwinnett Heat — the Eagles pulled out the win, beating the Heat 11-9, and advancing to the finals! The Clayton Eagles faced a tough Houston County Sharks team this year.  The Sharks beat the Eagles 14-3 in the AAASP/GHSA Varsity Wheelchair Handball State Championship — setting up the 3-peat in Wheelchair Handball (winning the title three years in a row). Congratulations Houston County Sharks!

Houston County Sharks: 14
Clayton County Eagles: 3

Congratulations to the 2023 Varsity AAASP/GHSA Wheelchair Handball All-Tournament Team:

  • Jaquavious WestHouston County Sharks
  • Edward RhoneClayton County Eagles
  • Kila-Ray BrownClayton County Eagles
  • Jeremiah HopsonGwinnett Heat
  • Randall MontanezGwinnett Heat
  • Elianna Stevens Houston County Sharks

In the Junior Varsity Division earlier this week, the Houston County Jr. Sharks took on the Muscogee Lions in the JV Wheelchair Handball Championship. The Houston County Jr. Sharks beat the Lions, earning them the Championship.

Houston County Jr. Sharks: 8
Muscogee Lions: 5

Congratulations to the 2023 Junior Varsity AAASP/GHSA Wheelchair Handball All-Tournament Team:

  • Caleb MerrikenMuscogee Lions
  • Paul HartMuscogee Lions
  • Adolfo GonzalezHouston County Jr. Sharks
  • Madison RyanHouston County Jr. Sharks
All-Tournament Team – Jr. Varsity
All-Tournament Team – Varsity
Clayton County Eagles – Varsity Runner-up
Houston County Sharks – Varsity State Champions 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *