Congratulations to the 2018 AAASP ASPIRE Awards Winners!

[layerslider id=”7″]

The American Association of Adapted Sports Programs is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 AAASP ASPIRE Awards last night at the ASPIRE Awards Banquet at the Renaissance Concourse Atlanta Airport Hotel.



All of our nominees were amazing; congratulations to this year’s honorees:


Outstanding Male Athlete – Logan Wegienka

Outstanding Female Athlete– Jordan Kozloski

Advocacy Award – Mike Phillips & Deborah Shapiro

Outstanding Senior Award – DeMarco Pittman

School-Based Program – Houston County Schools Sharks

Media Award – Rick Devens

Community Based Program – Insperity Adaptive Sports Complex

Gail Hendricks Volunteer Award – Curtis & Virginia Tabron

Founders Award – Ken Gordon, Lori Garrett, Gloria Brown, George Carmel, Steve Henson

Special thanks to our special guests, emcee and host, Sam Crenshaw, and guest speaker, world class athlete and Paralympian Jean Driscoll, as well as our sponsors for making the evening possible:

The Coleman Family, in Memory of Scott Coleman, Slappey & Sadd, LLC,

Georgia High School Association (GHSA), AAASP Board of Directors,

Flaghouse, ABC Medical, Beitchman Law Firm, Michele Sims, and the National

Alliance of Black Interpreters, Atlanta Chapter.

For the full list of nominees, and general info on the event, click on the link below:

2017 State Basketball Champs Houston County Sharks recognized at Board Mtg

Adapted Sports’ Houston County Sharks Varsity Basketball Team was recognized during the April Board Meeting for the 2017 State Basketball Championship.

The Shark players were surprised to find the display case in the front lobby of the board office dedicated to the them. The case contains past and present team pictures, championship trophies, and newspaper articles about the Sharks.

Below is the statement that Mr Fred Wilson, chairman of the board, read to the people in attendance.

HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – The Houston County Sharks won the 2017 State Wheelchair Basketball Championship at Stegeman Coliseum at the University of Georgia on March 9. The Sharks beat the West Georgia Wolverines 41 to 26 in the American Association of Adapted Sports Program tournament for the state title. This is the Varsity Sharks’ 19th state wheelchair championship and 5th basketball championship in a row in nine school years.

The game coincided with the Georgia High School Association basketball state championship tournament. Christy Jones, orthopedic impaired teacher, is the area coordinator of the program.  In addition to Jones, the Sharks coaches are: Adapted PE Specialist Dr. Brenda Arnett, Adapted PE Specialist Stephen Roberson, Special Education Teacher Laura Tinsley, and Community Coaches Ryan Brown, and Ben Masters.

Congratulations Sharks!